Week in Reads – March 4

After reading Ted Wilson’s Ted Wilson Reviews the World: Girl Scout Cookies on Medium, I thought I’d try my own weekly review of something in the world.

It’s not original by any means, but inspiration comes from all sorts of places, right? Part of my interest in attempting this weekly review of something in my world stems mostly from wanting to write more. I’m trying to find ways to get myself to write, and get over the hurdle of that “ugh, but I don’t feel like doing it right now.”

Writing problems.

Here are some of the reads I came across this week on the Internet and my inbox. What did you read this week?

Inbox & the Web

The New School proposed a new funding scheme for NSSR’s prize fellowships, and from what I’ve overheard and read about it, the grad students are having none of it. And for good reason. My colleague, Nathan, did a live post about it the recent Town Hall University President David Van Zandt led. I may have my own responses to this as it plays out in the coming days.

Speaking of school: So the problem with essays is our understanding of the word “essay” is stilted? Over at Cornell, “plantation” is questioned. And the STEM vs humanities fight continues.

On a different level: When we speak, are we speaking to an already existing public? Or do are they created afterwards?

And emails. Why do we get so many damn emails.

The Hard Stuff

Class Acts by Rachel Sherman

Leave a Reply

