On Writing – 30 days into the self-inflicted challenge

I’m coming up on a month of writing (almost) every day, taking alternative posting dates between this blog and my bike blog.

It hasn’t been easy, but the (almost) 30 days of writing, while difficult, has been rewarding.

And tonight is one of those nights where I throw in a “cop out” blog post. But I have to wonder, for us writers, even if what we feel like is a “cop out” post, is it really such a post?

I can imagine that even if we just post a photo, or a quote, or some silly little line and publish it to get our “post for the day” in, it would be found to have some meaning to someone, somewhere.

This is how I imagine myself when writing

Right?

Or is this some writer’s way of quieting the blow of some kind of guilt?

Anyway. In some fitting way, I came across this post on Medium on not writing—which spoke to me.

This is the reality…
I’ve attempted maintaining a blog for quite some time now. Initially I do fairly well, keeping up with a steady stream of posts. Thirty days later though, I just stop writing. I publish something here in January. Something there in February. Then three posts in March. Nothing in April. And the inconsistent publication of rambling thoughts continues in that fashion.

Not very good for online writing—of course, my stuff isn’t the New Yorker.

There’s a statement in this Medium post however, that got me thinking about writing and having a regular posting schedule:

The question I can’t answer is, would it be better to pound out a string of crappy, confusing blog posts that slowly improve, or just say nothing at all? Probably the former, but it’s far more painless to continue to go with the latter.

The latter is true. It is much more painless to just go dormant, only writing when the Muse strikes hard.

But not writing is not a friend of the writer.

Writing every day is hard. True, but thank goodness for writing prompts. Though, I find that even then the prompts have to feel right. Weird, I know. But in this game of writing regularly, you can’t ignore how you feel about a given prompt or some other nagging flag that’s itching at you to write.

It’s gotten to a point where it takes some creativity to get at the core of the prompt. And that’s been the fun part: not answering the prompt directly, but taking the “scenic route.”

What do people call that? Thinking outside the box? Yeah.

Not everything we write will be spot-on, 100 percent rainbow awesome. But I’ve come to the realization that writing everyday, even if it’s just a haiku or a photo, is one day that I got better at thinking and writing.

Writing everyday, even if it’s a crappy day, means you got that day’s practice in.

How do you guys battle those “slow” writing days?

This hasn’t happened yet, but I could see how it’s a possibility.
2 thoughts on “On Writing – 30 days into the self-inflicted challenge

Leave a Reply

